I Run…….


I run errands. I run to the store to pick up coffee when I’m out. I sometimes eat breakfast on the run. When I’m sick, I run a fever. I ran for student council in middle school. I would run if being accosted by a pack of wild animals. I spend a lot of time in my life running around like a mad person from one thing to another, but in the traditional sense of the word “run” (to go quickly by moving the legs more rapidly than at a walk and in such a manner that for an instant in each step all or both feet are off the ground,) it’s not something that I think is very fun or would like to spend a lot of time doing.

Why then have I decided to participate in a triathlon? Mostly because I think I can’t. Also because my beautiful sister, mother of a four-year old and a 1-year-old, competed in her first triathlon last year and I was inspired by her accomplishment. I sent her a book I found on Amazon about an octogenarian nun who competes in triathlons. When I looked at the “Iron Nun” looking both inspired and inspiring on the front cover I thought  “Wow, good for you, Sister, but you must be both touched by the Lord and a little senility because that’s some craziness.” 345 triathlons, including Ironman? Really? My point is that I think anyone can do anything they set their minds to. I’m gonna try.

Here is the link to her book:

http://www.amazon.com/Grace-Race-Inspiration-80-Year-Old-Triathlete/dp/1439177481

My thoughts on swimming and biking to come. 🙂

3 Comments on “I Run…….

What are your thoughts?

