Sh*t Triathletes Say


“Swim like you’re gonna drown, ride like you stole it and run like you’re being chased.”

-Unknown


My brother-in-law sent me an email this morning with a link to an article written by Michelle Valenti, the triathlon and swimming editor for Active.com,  called “Sh*it Triathletes Say.” It made me laugh. For the full article click on the blue link above. Here are some of my favorites (My thoughts are in italics):

“Of course I run in Newtons.”   (I run so that I may eat Fig Newtons.)

Newtons are a popular running shoe designed to mimic the most natural running position.

“I bonked.” (Myself in the head on the wall of pool because I wasn’t paying attention.)

Bonking is another term for “hitting the wall.” This happens when triathletes literally run out of energy. It could be because they “went out too hard” or because they didn’t eat enough to support their effort.

 “My Coach says…” (At least you’re aware of your sugar addiction.)

Given the amount of factors that need to be taken into consideration when training, it’s common for triathletes to get a coach. The coach can take responsibility for outlining what the athlete has to do and why, so that the athlete can simply focus on the workouts.

 “Sometimes I’ll mix up my training with a fartlek run.”  (I’m gonna stay away from that one.)

Interval training is important for triathletes who want to increase their overall speed. Fartleks are a form of interval training that involves getting their heart rate up for several short segments during a workout. For example, after an easy warm-up, they might sprint for 30 to 60 seconds, then recover with an easy five-minute jog; then repeat for as many times as the training session allows.

Make sure to read the full article! I’m sure there are some other gems out there if anyone has some to share.
3 Comments on “Sh*t Triathletes Say

  1. Pingback: TRIbook - It’s OK to Unplug From Technology

What are your thoughts?

