Running Music Mix


A song is a powerful thing. It can bring you back to a time in your life that you’ve since tried to forget, wanted never to forget or didn’t know that you still longed to remember. A song can bring you back to the family vacations of your childhood, to the arms of your first love or in my case, back to college and straight into an embarrassing public display of cringe-inducing dance moves. Once upon a time, half of a  wine cooler was enough to convince me that my life was one big music video. Two beats into an N’Sync song and I’m cowering in the corner screaming for someone to make it stop.

These days a song is sometimes what gets me through a particularly bad bout of having a millions reasons why I don’t want to train; or am already running and want to turn around and go home. The songs on this list are BAD ASS and make me feel like one when I need some extra pep in my step. (Click the song title for the iTunes link.)

My Tri-Mix

Fight To Win” (feat. Cee Lo Green) by Goodie Mob

Run, Run, Run” by Vicci Martinez

I’m A Machine” by David Guetta (feat. Crystal Nicole)

Green Light” by Roll Deep

 “Fire In Your New Shoes” by Kaskade (fear. Dragonette)

Gonna Fly Now” (Theme from Rocky) by Bill Conti

Fly” by Nicki Minaj (feat. Rihanna)

Chasing The Sun” by The Wanted

We Own The Night” by Tiesto & Wolfgang Carter (feat. Luciana)

Wild Ones” by Flo Rida (feat. Sia)

Hot Mess” by Cobra Starship

*Here’s a sneak peek of one more for you that’s not available for download yet, but will get you in the mood to conquer the world. It’s called “Soldier” and I wrote it with my best friend/marathoner, Megan Conner. We hope it inspires you like it did us while we were writing it. Click on the link, crank your speakers and enjoy! 

“Soldier” by Robin Grant and Megan Conner (Performed by Megan)

13 Comments on “Running Music Mix

  1. I don’t know how you run with music playing – surest way for me to blow up after 3 miles (my pace winds up around 6 minute miles or 1-1/2 minutes per mile too fast).

    • I suppose it’s because I’ve only been dedicated to running for about three months and I’m still in the phase of just getting out there and doing it! I’m still trying to get through my runs without stopping to take breaks and not so much worried about my pace at this point. The music keeps me motivated to keep moving and not stop. Hopefully I’m making enough progress that soon it will be easy and I can start working on my pace. I’m such a newbie. Ugh. 🙂

      • We all start out somewhere, don’t sweat it. Running without stopping is tough and it’s almost all mental. Start looking into training zones (1-5) and don’t spend too much time in 5, which is what zaps your will to continue. If you like the music, it’s all good, I just started running before iPods were invented – portable music was still a CD player – so I never ran with music until I could carry a phone and it messed me up. Keep it up.

      • It’s probably better, ultimately, that you don’t because I didn’t know when I started that I can’t use one in the races anyway. It’ll be like ripping a pacifier from a baby. Thanks for the advice! Have a great day!

  2. Pingback: Top Dance Songs 2012 « Jaggi

  3. I know that everybody always says: Don’t run with music because you can’t use it in the race but for the long training sessions without a running buddy, I always take music. You need something to keep you going. True, you won’t be allowed to listen to your own music in a race but then all the race buzz and the other triathletes will entertain you so much that you won’t need your mp3 player anyway. The buzz will pull you along without music. So yes, try to run without music every so often just to not be so addicted to your earphones but if you have a day where running with no music is absolutely unthinkable… go for the music.

What are your thoughts?

