What’s with the jersey, Girl?


“I believe in manicures. I believe in overdressing. I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick. I believe in pink. I believe happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day, and… I believe in miracles.” -Audrey Hepburn

The first time I ever purposely wore pink was for a Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure event, at which I ran in honor of my grandmother, a breast cancer survivor. But before then,Β I always hated pink. I never wore it. Nor did I wear bows, ruffles or pink frosted lip gloss. I was a seriously dramatic choir girl with a brooding and sensitive reputation to protect. Yes, I loved clothes and make up, but if the color was pink? Pass.

Flash forward to 2012 and chances are you will see me sporting some piece of hot pink athletic wear that I decided, at some point, I couldn’t live without. There is a theory floating around out there proposing that our tastes in pretty much everything changes every 7 years. For example, if you didn’t like tomatoes as a child, chances are you will begin liking them at some point in adulthood. That makes sense to me. I was never a fan of cheese or anything pink and now I seem to beeline for the cheese samples at Whole Foods and anything pink in the athletic-wear department. My Polar HR Monitor is hot pink. My reflective running gear is hot pink and now I can add a ridiculous hot pink biking jersey to the list. I tend to buy things based on how they make me feel. I’m a retail marketer’s dream consumer. I’m sure that mine isn’t the most efficient purchase-making process, but this jersey made me laugh. Who doesn’t like to laugh?

15 Comments on “What’s with the jersey, Girl?

  1. I’m glad you discovered pink. And the jersey is really hilarious. It still will never be my color. The “beautiful” pink swim hat I got for the Ironman 70.3 Mallorca is rotting away in some corner. I had to wear it that day, I will never wear it again. Pink doesn’t look good on me πŸ˜‰

    • It’s funny, huh? Wow, an Ironman? I can put that on the list of things I will never accomplish. Impressive! As far as pink goes, my infatuation only seems to apply to athletic oriented things. Not regular clothing. Odd, I know. πŸ™‚

      • Ironman 70.3! Not a full one. It’s actually quite doable. It took me nearly 7 hours to finish but not once through the race did I think: “Gosh, I’m so tired, I really want to stop. When is this over?” It was fun (as fun as athletic torture gets). I only started triathlon about 1.5 years ago and I managed to get Ironman 70.3-ready in about a year. Never say never!

        As for the pink… I don’t get it πŸ˜‰

  2. That jersey is flippin’ awesome – I’ve gotta get one for my wife!!! Way to embrace your inner chick – nothing beats a woman who isn’t afraid of being a chick. Absolutely awesome.

  3. I have that jersey too! Not in the pink though, it would clash with my face when I am cycling! I just need to find somewhere to scrawl the “unfit” at the front and then I can tell everyone it was custommade :0)
    I have wanted to do a triathlon for over 20 years. I think I need to master my cycling first! You have helped inspire me, as a fellow “biker chick” though :0) Hopefully we can keep tags on each others progress :0)

    • Maybe you could take it to your seamstress and have her embroider “unfit” over the biker chick. That would be AMAZING! πŸ™‚ On the triathlon: If I can do it, anyone can. Yes, I’ll keep up with your progress. πŸ™‚

  4. Love the jersey! I never were pink either except for when I am wearing Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure or CIBC Run for the Cure gear. Then it is pink all the way (even my nails). πŸ˜‰

What are your thoughts?

