A Bizarre Triathlon Dream and a Training Update


There are some people who live in a dream world, and there are some who face reality; and then there are those who turn one into the other.” -Douglas H. Everett

It’s getting closer! 97 days until my first triathlon and I must be having some sort of sub-conscious training crisis because I had the wackiest, and I mean wacky, dream about competing in one. I tend to have truly bizarre dreams and usually remember them in spectacularly vivid detail. Since this one, in particular, was about a triathlon and this blog is ultimately about my experience preparing for one, I will share a bit of it. Feel free to analyze. I have my own amateur psychoanalysis of what it all means, which I will lay out after the following dose of crazy:

The scene is somewhere in Hawaii. I am standing by myself at the start line and I realize that I’m in a t-shirt and shorts and have forgotten my goggles. In this triathlon, the run is first so I send a total stranger back to my hotel room to find them for me. Slowly the other triathletes begin to show up and get into place. There are only two waves. One for women and one for men. The first thing I notice is that all of the female triathletes look like fitness models and there are only about 20 of them competing with me in the race. I start feeling uneasy because the stranger is not back with my goggles yet and a tall gray-haired man is about to blow the horn. Oh, well. I’ll get them later.

The horn blows and we’re off. I immediately fall behind and realize that there are no signs, course markers or people directing us as we go and I am completely lost and yelling about the lack of organization of this race and that I’m not psychic. How am I supposed to know where to go?  A map and my car magically appear, so I jump in and start to drive around looking for the 20 fitness models/triathletes. I see no one, but I do find half a bag of chocolate covered peanuts in the passenger seat of my car, so I eat them. I finally see what looks like a train station with a balloon and a handmade cardboard sign attached to the front door and assume that it has something to do with the triathlon. It does.

The train station is the transition area and I have to buy a ticket to get to the swim portion of the race. Before I abandon my car, I make sure to hide my laptop (because out of nowhere my Mac shows up) under the seat and lock the doors. I sprint up to the station and buy a ticket only to miss the first train. I buy ticket after ticket and miss each one. Because this is a dream, I abruptly find myself in a completely different location. I have apparently changed into a sundress and am sitting in the back of a military transport helicopter. A horrifying realization hits me over the head as I come to understand that I’m going to have to jump out of the helicopter into the Pacific in order to compete in the swim portion of the triathlon. In a dress. With no goggles. I jump out of the helicopter and find myself swimming underneath the water, just behind the fitness models, through coral and an underwater cavern. I realize that I can’t breathe and I wake up.

What. The. Hell.

What does all THAT mean? Here is my take:

  1. My first triathlon is 3 MONTHS AWAY! It’s time to step it up. It’s time to not rationalize my way out of getting in all of my training sessions. Don’t feel like training? Do it anyway. I’ve found that in life, when I don’t want to do something, that’s exactly when I should.
  2. I’m very confident on the bike. If I were on a triathlon relay team, I would most definitely choose the bike. But last time I checked, a triathlon is not Bike. Bike. More Bike. My swimming is strong, but if you’ve read any of my posts about open-water swimming, you know that it’s a bit of a mental hurdle for me. Running? No love lost there.
  3. I need not let my reputation precede me into the triathlon. What do I mean by that? Someone recently said to me, “If you don’t knock over ten bikes in the transition area, I’ll be surprised and disappointed.” That’s hilarious and, in general, a warranted statement, but I think that letting past calamities cloud my growing confidence is something I need to let go of.

I’ve decided that at the end of every week, I will post a recap of my training efforts. That is why I started this blog in the first place; to keep myself accountable, in some public way, for doing the work. I post my thoughts on a lot of different subjects, but the title of this blog is IfYouNeverTri, and tri-ing I am.

Here is a little inspiration for you: I follow a blog called One Day At A Timewritten by a woman in Australia who is training for a half IM, her first triathlon in 8 years. Reading about her training efforts inspires me to make no excuses. 

Here are a few more that I follow and find entertaining and inspiring:

Fit Recovery

Socially Fit

The Dancing Runner

 

 

(Photo Credit: My iPhone)

 

 

22 Comments on “A Bizarre Triathlon Dream and a Training Update

  1. That’s a crazy triathlon dream! It made me laugh though. I’m just as clumsy and likely to knock something over/injure myself, but strangely i seem to have managed to get through a few tris now with no major disasters. Sounds like your brain is just trying to process all your training so far and coming to terms with the fun challenge you’ve set yourself.
    Thanks for stopping by my triathlon blog and good luck with your adventures!

  2. you should try swimming without goggles, and possibly clothed, you seem slightly freaked out by that stuff.

  3. Mmmmh, whatta dream. You’re either overtraining or overobsessing or both… But having these dreams before the big day is pretty normal, especially if you are a creative person with loads of imagination. I always dream weird things before races.Try cross-training. Rollerblading or whatever other activity you can do that does not involve swimming, biking or running. It’s good sometimes.

    • Well, I have both an over active imagination and I work in a creative industry, so it’s a double-whammy. I just signed up to take five classes at Barry’s Bootcamp. I think it will be good to mix it up a bit.

  4. Intense. I reckon you’re do focused that your mind is just working overtime to deal with it. No need to over-think an interpretation. Just stick to your training plan. I doubt you’ll forget your goggles on race day nor have to jump out of a helicopter. Fingers crossed? Kim*

    http://www.travelphotographyblog.wordpress.com

  5. Hilarious…..yet perfectly normal. The fear of the unknown manifesting itself into dreams of navy seal operations in a sun dress. My favorite was arriving to a race, but on the other side of the lake. I had to swim to the swim start, past all of the swmmers (going the other way) to get my race gear so I could officially start the race. Wierd

  6. I remember before one of my triathlons years ago that I dreamt I turned up late, everyone had started but I couldn’t find anyone & got lost in the process! And then before my IM event (8 yrs ago) I thought I had forgotten my goggles! There’s even photos of me looking for them. They’d fallen out of my bag and were back in the car. Hubby went back & got them for me! And thank you for the mention – its nice to know that my efforts are also inspiring at least one other person!
    Cathy

  7. Oh wow! your first triathlon! I look forward to following your exciting journey! ps; thanks for reading my blog post today. x Bo

What are your thoughts?

