Tour de Heat Exhaustion: Weekly Workout Round-Up


“I want to ride my bicycle, bicycle, bicycle; I want to ride my bicycle; I want to ride my bike; I want to ride my bicycle; I want to ride it where I like…; I don’t believe in Peter Pan, Frankenstein or Superman; All I wanna do is bicycle, bicycle, bicycle…”
-Freddie Mercury

In my last post, I wrote that I would start reporting on what workouts I got in the previous week. To be honest, I’m surprised I, or anyone in the state of Tennessee, (or the other states in our situation) accomplished anything in the physical fitness department other than walking through the house to turn the thermostat down. Hot.Dry.Wow. Tennessee hasn’t seen this kind of heat and drought situation since 2007. If you could, for one minute, block out the searing heat and just look around, you might think it was fall. Dead leaves are scattered all around, plants are dying and the grass hasn’t needed to be cut in almost a month. Bizarre.

Thankfully, we’ve had a little rain pop up here and there and, finally last night, a much-needed down pour. The weather prediction of the day says that we shouldn’t see temperatures higher than 89 degrees, so hopefully I will be able to get in an outside run today! As you will see in a moment, I didn’t do much running last week. Biking, yes. Running, not so much. I blame it on the Tour de France. Watching the coverage, if you’re interested in this sort of thing, is really exciting and if you’re like me, makes you want to go hop on your bike and start pedaling.

So here is the workout review:

Monday, July 2nd: If fanning one’s self in the heat counts for an arm workout, then I get a gold star for getting in a workout.  If not, then no workout on this day.

Tuesday, July 3rd: 1:03 minutes out on the bike.

This particular bike ride was a reminder of two important things: Don’t be stupid and ride when it’s still 101 degrees outside. Even if it’s at 5:30PM and I think l’ll be ok. The second thing is also safety-related. It would probably be a good idea to have some form of identification while out running or biking. I got pretty ill in the last 20 minutes of my ride. I got really dizzy and nauseous and was hanging out on the side of the road looking for some place to lose my lunch. I kept thinking to myself, “Wow, you’re gonna pass out. You have no phone, no ID. You’re gonna be Jane Doe in the hospital in your embarrassing padded bike shorts.” Thankfully, I made it through the Tour de Heat Exhaustion and was ok. There have been about a hundred commercials for these Road ID’s during the Tour coverage and I think I may buy one.

Wednesday, July 4th: 55 minutes on the bike.

I was out much earlier in the day, but was still a little tired from the previous evening. All went well.

Thursday, July 5th: A combination of drills in the pool totaling 800 meters.

Friday, July 6th: 60 minute Barry’s Bootcamp Full Body Class.

The first 15 minutes was all running, so I’m going to say that I did get some running in. The rest of the class was a mixture of plyometrics, weights and a bit more running. I needed to mix it up a little and this class did the trick.

Saturday, July 7th: Another hour on the bike. I can’t stay off my new road bike. I love it.

Sunday, July 8th: Sunday was a “life got in the way” day. I had a million things happening, so I didn’t get in a workout. Boo!

There we have it! Now today it all starts over. I’ll be trying to stick to my plan a little better, but still add in a Barry’s class. Happy Monday!

20 Comments on “Tour de Heat Exhaustion: Weekly Workout Round-Up

  1. I too love bicycling but I get easily tired because of excessive sweating. My legs or muscles don’t hurt, it’s just the oversweating that turns me down.

  2. See ,over in the U.K we are having the opposite problem. The wettest April,May, June and now July on record. Ironically April started dry and all the water companies slapped restrictions on us – the last ones have only just been lifted! I went out for a ride in the pouring rain yesterday – still 20 degress so wet and clammy. The temperature is now dropping for the rest of the week and I am fed up of still having to ride with waterproofs and long sleeved tops!

    • You know, I think I lived in England in a past life or something, because I LOVE the rain. Love, Love, Love. I’ve been to the U.K. once and I loved the drizzle. It makes no sense, I know. 🙂 I hope it dries up for you and you get in some good rides!

      • Oh don’t get me wrong. I dont mind some rain – but nearly four MONTHS without more than 1 or 2 days respite??! The gardens are looking lush and green but its never dry long enough to get friend over for a barbeque or just enjoy it! And on a mre serious note, there is now alot of areas in Northern england that are experincing regular flooding, with damage to homes, businesses and sadly losses of life. I have heard the heatwave is causing similiar problems over in the U.S too? Lets hope it calms down all round eh :0?

  3. I’m so glad I’m not the only one frustrated with the heat and not being able to exercise to the degree I’d like. 🙂 Thanks for visiting my blog today!

  4. Well done! Training in the heat is always tough. I definitely make sure I’m properly hydrated and…I’ve discovered a fantastic kids water park just a few minutes from my home. The water is freezing but ohhhh so refreshing after a run or bike trip.

    Keep going – train smart.

    doug

      • Next time you visit my little blog check out “What did it cost …What’s it worth” Youll see me enjoying the oh so cold water of the park…it was …and is! …awesome! Start a petition for a waterark near you!

        doug

What are your thoughts?

