Birthday Recap: No. 2 Pencils and A New Triathlon Coach


“How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?” -Satchel Paige

Friday, August 24th was my birthday and it was a good one. I told anyone who would listen that all I really wanted for my birthday was peace and harmony in my life and a state-of-the-art cordless pencil sharpener. I’m serious. I don’t like writing in pen. I keep my schedule in a bulky At-A-Glace planner and I like for everything to be written in pencil. I have all the modern technology that allows for a person to keep a tidy, synch-able online calendar; an iMac, an iPhone and a Macbook, but I’m either old school or have an advanced case of OCD. According to at least one professional, it’s the latter. The other part of my quandary is that I can’t keep up with my mechanical pencils and when I do find one, it’s out of lead and I’ve misplaced the lead refills. Thankfully, that is not an issue I will face anymore.

(On the way to dinner with my new best friend.)

(Visually stunning.)

(Thank you BFF Megan for the awesome Coach purse, but more importantly, the pencils.)

I also was surprised with something I didn’t ask for, a Cuisinart juicer. This thing is enormous and I have no idea what to do with it, but I suppose I should start doing some research into the art of juicing. My last experience with a freshly pressed juice was not amazing. I will only say this: Don’t drink half of a celery/apple/carrot juice from Whole Foods and then leave it in your car for 4 days in 100-degree weather. Just don’t. On a more positive note, maybe having a juicer of my very own will be a turning point in my otherwise, continuously botched attempt to clean up my diet. If I can figure out how to make juice with protein, I’ll be on a roll. Suggestions are welcome.

(Juicy beauty.)

On the gastronomical subject, I had a wonderful birthday dinner here in Nashville with 10 great friends and, of course, ate too much.

(Don’t be fooled by the lettuce. This salad is in no way healthy.)

I did buy one thing for myself for my birthday this year and that gift came in the form of triathlon coaching services from TriSuccess in Nashville. I’ve been working with Caroline Butler for almost a month now and she is pretty darn great! I met Caroline and her business partner, Kathleen last month and am in my 3rd week of their training plan. I could’ve splurged on a shiny new something for myself, but the return on my coaching investment is already more exciting than the sparkly Alexis Bittar bracelet that has softly called my name for two months. Between swimming, biking, running and the strength training workouts, I have 8 planned workouts a week, with one rest day. So far, due to a little stomach bug, I’ve only missed two of the workouts. I feel incredibly accountable to these inspiring ladies and the plan they’ve put together for me. Side note: I am lucky to have had the help of a friend (who I’ve referred to as Ironman in previous posts) who put together my first training plans and got me fully prepared to jump headfirst into these last five weeks of training with Caroline. Thank you, IM. You know who you are.

Happy Birthday to all you Virgos out there!

15 Comments on “Birthday Recap: No. 2 Pencils and A New Triathlon Coach

  1. Happy birthday! I also have all the tech I would need to keep my calendar online, but I choose to carry my paper calendar around. It’s more final to write things down there, online they would just go clickclick and delete 🙂

  2. Happy (belated) birthday! I, too, prefer a written day planner much more than all the other tools that are out there. I think it’s totally normal. Others do not.

  3. Happy belated Birthday! “Splurging” on triathlon coaching for your bday present sounds like a great idea! I might have to look into a similar gift for my next birthday. 🙂

  4. thx for visiting my blog! happy belated birthday! you got 2 things i would like! i actually have an electronic sharpener..didn’t know they came in CORDLESS. Good luck w/ juicer. I would like one although i hear they are kind of a pain to clean. love making smoothies, etc. looking forward to seeing you progress toward your goal. stay focused and have fun.

    • Thank you so much! Yes, the cordless sharpener is great. The brand is called an iPoint evolution. I’m not sure I’m looking forward to cleaning a juicer. It sounds like a nice idea, a juicer, but also sounds like a mess. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

