26 Days To Go: Houses, Songs and Board Meetings


“Chaos often breeds life, when order breeds habit.” -Henry Adams

Today is a “life gets in the way day,” a phrase I learned from a friend earlier this year regarding missed workouts. Unfortunately I had to bag my swim workout today, but plan to hit the pool after my physical therapy appointment in the morning. The only thing about missing my workout today means that instead of one workout tomorrow, I am going to try and squeeze in two. We’ll see how that plan pans out.

My day started with a trip to the new house to check on the progress of the new floors, pick out a stain color for the hardwood and to meet with a cabinet-maker. I baked cookies for the floor guys, which made the supervisor on the job feel extra bad when he accidentally splattered me with walnut-colored wood stain while showing me finish options. Those kinds of things really don’t bother me. As someone who spills things on herself at least 7 times a day, I get it. It’s ok.

Speaking of new houses. The movers come on Saturday and guess how many boxes I’ve packed? If you guessed a big fat zero, you win the prize. What’s the prize? That would be my undying gratitude for the fact that you are taking time out of your day to read this.

After I left the new house I drove straight to a session to work on a new pop track that I wrote with two of my favorite co-writers, Georgia Thomas and Paul Umbach. He co-wrote a little pop hit called “Love” by Matt White. Yep. He’s good. It was a nice break in all of the craziness to be in the studio working with two friends who also happen to be great musicians. Two straight days of plugging my amazing musical friends. Can’t help myself.

 

For my next task of the day I will be meeting with the board of the Nashville Triathlon Club for the their monthly meeting. Why? It turns out that I will be helping them with their website and blog. I find that hilarious. Me? The Newbie? Going to the Nashville Triathlon Club board meeting? Admit it. It’s amusing. The tortoise and the hares.

Hopefully I will get some packing in after I get home from the meeting. Life is going to be crazy for the little while and that’s ok. I just need to do the next right thing in all areas of life and maintain the attitude of gratitude I mentioned a few posts ago. All of the things in life vying for my time, energy and brain space are blessings.  A new house, new triathlon friends and getting to do what I love every day?  I’ll take it.

What are your thoughts?

