9 Days To Go


“Without leaps of imagination, or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all, is a form of planning.” -Gloria Steinem

Update: We got an e-mail confirming that the Santa Rosa Triathlon directors got the overnighted fees and applications that were required to make the change to a relay team. Yay!

It’s been a little odd to look at my training program and not see any runs on there. My coach designed this week’s workouts to reflect my inability to run or to bike without the air cast on. I set up the trainer in front of the tv and have been getting my workouts there instead of outside. I much prefer biking outside, but I think I would feel like a bit of a moron biking through Nashville with an air cast on my leg. Swimming is as usual.

This morning I went to my physical therapist and then straight over to the YMCA that I used to go before moving to a different part of town. My membership allows me to go to any Y in the Nashville area. Love that. Perry, my PT, did some amazing work on my back, left leg (my only good one) and hips. Just when you think your body can’t possible snap, crackle and pop any more, POW! I apparently have the flexibility of a pretzel. My alignment is seeing a bit of improvement. And since that seems to be the root of all my issues, it’s positive news.

So, about the Maryland Farms YMCA. I was mid-lap when I heard the most outrageously booming loud salsa music playing in the pool area. I mean loud. If you’ve read any of my old posts, you know that it made my day, realizing that the Silver Sneakers were having a water salsa dancing class in the pool. The instructor was outside of the pool standing near the edge demonstrating all of the dances. I stopped at the end of my lane, had my one moment of shaking it under water, then finished my swim. Now that I have a bum leg I have an excuse to weasel my way into the Silver Sneakers classes and not be regarded as a total interloper. Life is good.

3 Comments on “9 Days To Go

What are your thoughts?

