The Day After Tomorrow


 

“Believe you can and you’re halfway there.” -Theodore Roosevelt

I’m not talking about the big-budget doomsday movie. I’m talking about the one where I hurl myself into the Gulf of Mexico (which I’m listening to crash on the beach as I type) and swim for my life. That’s dramatic, yes. My actual goals for the swim are to be confident in the training I’ve done, not to psyche myself out, do the best I can and set the rest of the “If You Never Tri” team up for a great race.

We arrived, unpacked the car, got changed and headed out for a beach bike ride. I hadn’t been on the bike in over a week. After a long ride last Tuesday, my leg was really killing so my coach adjusted my plan to include only swimming until after my next visit to the doctor for a check-up. Such a bummer. I feel the muscle that I’ve built turning into a big pile of this:

(Key Lime Pie, Flounder’s on Pensacola Beach. I had to. Five bites. It is what it is.)

(The ride on Via de Luna. Inspiring.)

I got in my last swim before heading down here and spent most of the swim thinking back to February when I started this triathlon odyssey. I remember looking out across the days, weeks and months and wondering what I would feel like when I finally got here to Pensacola. I certainly wouldn’t have predicted that I’d be hobbling around on a bum leg. I didn’t think I would be feeling like such a sloth after adding a couple of pounds due to the cut back in workouts. Such is life.

(Life can’t be all that bad, when you’re looking at this.)

I’ve said this before in posts past, make all the plans you want, just don’t pack a bag. (I stole that from a very wise friend.) It has been 12 years since I’ve been on this beach. I have a lot of history here. If I weren’t so tired I would write all about it, but I’ll save that for my post-triathlon round-up next week. I almost forgot how beautiful it is here.

(A little stop on our bike ride.)

In the meantime, all mild personal disappointments aside, I am REALLY excited to be here. I can’t wait to be a part of this amazing triathlon and to soak up the sun and the energy of the hundreds of triathletes who will be here. It was so exciting to see other cars on the road today with tri bikes attached to the back of them. I can’t help but wave, smile and think “Yep, we belong to the same tribe.”

My plan is get a good night’s sleep and wake up tomorrow morning grateful for this view:

17 Comments on “The Day After Tomorrow

  1. You go girl! (Do people still say that?) It looks like a beautiful place. You have worked so hard to get here just try to remember to enjoy it along the way. I’ll be waiting to hear all about it. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

