Santa Rosa Triathlon Recap: Part 2


“A trophy carries dust. Memories last forever.” -Mary Lou Retton

I can’t believe it’s been two weeks since the triathlon already. I hit the ground running (well,  maybe not running) as soon as I got back to Nashville. Meetings, new songs, unpacking the new house, house painters, yikes! One of the highlights of the last two weeks was going back to my sports medicine doctor on Thursday the 18th and getting the go ahead to lose my annoying cast! I’m going to be slowly adding the elliptical machine and power walking back into the mix and hopefully, in a month will be able to run/walk a couple of miles at a time.

Here is my Santa Rosa Island Triathlon Recap: Part 2 in pictures:

(View from the relay holding area.)

(Kind of wish I had taken a spin on this. Next year.)

(My team-mate hustling into the relay transition area after smoking the course on his bike.)

(The timing chip hand-off. Harder than it looks.)

(Go, girl, go!)

(Bringing it home for the If You Never Tri Team)

(Big bag. Small sister.)

(Free post-race massages in the pavilion)

(Thank you, Charles and Ann)

(Post-race hang on Pensacola Beach)

(Real or fake?)

(My overactive imagination says real.)

(Post-race beach time at the Portofino Resort)

(Ahhh.)

(You know it’s hot out here for a pimp.)

(Out there somewhere is part of our team diving for shells.)

A little bit about the food:

(A little bit of heaven on a plate at the Paradise Inn)

(Lunch with a view)

(Leaning tower of grease at Flounder’s)

(One last seafood blowout the night before heading back to Nashville)

And for a bit of the absurd:

(Best chachki ever at Alvin’s Island Souvenir Store. This is a lamp people.)

So there is Part 2 of my recap of the Santa Rosa Island Triathlon. Don’t think I’ve forgotten about the Shark Week experience I promised. That deserves a post of its own and its coming soon!

2 Comments on “Santa Rosa Triathlon Recap: Part 2

  1. You have been a buys girl. I hope you are settling in nicely to the new home. I am just about to start the packing and moving process.
    The pictures are great and it looks like you had a really great time. Congratulations!
    I’m looking forward to your next adventure.

    • Thanks, Michelle. Seeing as how I still haven’t done a full distance triathlon, I will be starting the training process over in January. Until then, I’m sure I’ll be documenting the other adventures in life…Getting back into the working out post-leg injury and other things. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

