Slump Be Gone!


“If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put the foundations under them.” -Henry David Thoreau

It’s a big week! There is the obvious tryptophan-fest that is Thanksgiving, but aside from that health and fitness apocalypse,  I will be attempting my first doctor-approved run/walk. I made my last trip to Impact Sports on Thursday and I’m clear to start adding in some run/walk intervals to my workouts. Wait, what?  Workouts?  I know they exist, but, by golly, I don’t think I’ve seen one of those in these parts for at least 4 weeks! A Robin sighting at the gym or out on the bike tooling around Nashville? You would have had better luck sighting a Sasquatch down on Broadway Ave. with a guitar slung over its shoulder singing Keith Urban covers.

On second thought, that may not be as unlikely as it sounds, but my point is that I’ve been in a slump. A big-time slump. This week I’m going to have to dig deep, forget the fact that I was more depressed about my leg injury throwing a big fat wrench into my triathlon plans and get in some workouts. As prescribed by my doctors, I will be doing some power walking, elliptical, biking and, hopefully, an uneventful run/walk or two.

I’ve heard rumors of others encountering the phenomenon known as the post-race blues. It makes sense. Training for a marathon, triathlon or any other sporting event requires a level of energy and focus that when taken out of the daily routine, leaves a big gaping what-am-I-going-to-do-with-myself hole in one’s schedule. The post-race doldrums coupled with a required period of recovery from an injury has left me with a lack of willpower to do much of anything workout related. I found a good explanation of the post-race blues and some tips for bouncing back in an article by Ben Greenfield over at trifuel.com. (Read the article here.)

Last week I made a list of races that I would like to complete in 2013. This was a good motivator for me and got me closer to working out than anything else has in the past month. You would think that the slightly fuller look that I’ve been sporting would be enough.

Note: With enough squatting and leaping around your room like a frog with a bad case of anxiety disorder, you can make any pair of your skinny jeans fit again.

In addition to athletic pursuits, the article suggested that we set goals that have nothing to do with sport.  Ever have the desire to knit a sweater or Feel the need to catch up on the complete first two seasons of Dexter in a week and a half? Now is the time. Do it. Several years ago during a bout of non-sports related blues, I made a list for myself of things that I could do instead of letting sadness drag me through the mud. I never learned to love vacuuming, I didn’t finish the complete Golden Girls series and I killed the herb garden I planted, but having those goals, in addition to the other 60 on my list, helped pull me out of the slump.

On that note, here is a partial list of races that I would like to complete in 2013:

-January 26th, 2013  Zoo Run Run 5k in Nashville, TN

-February 9th, 2013 Cupid’s Chase 5k in Nashville, TN

-March 24th, 2013 5th  Annual Alpha Delta Pi-athlon in Murfreesboro, TN

-April 28th, 2013  Hammer Spring Triathlon in Lenoir City, TN

-August 10th, 2013 Mountain Lakes Triathlon in Guntersville, AL

Happy almost Turkey Day!

Any tips for digging oneself out of a workout slump?

Next: My annual Thanksgiving Day Gratitude List

Photo Source: My camera

8 Comments on “Slump Be Gone!

  1. I have a few ideas. First, make it easy to do. Make sure all of your running gear is clean and ready to go. If you run at lunch make sure you have all of your stuff. Second, play tricks on yourself. Tell yourself you are only going out for a 1 mile run to see how it feels. You know that once you get out there you will do much more than 1 mile.
    Getting that first run done is a big hurtle/accomplishment. So make it easy to do and LIE to yourself! Usually I can get back into the swing of things after I get that first run out of the way.

  2. Goals as so important and races are a great place to make those goals happen. I find that once I sign up for a race it feels so much better than thinking about it and I realize that I don’t have a choice but to put in the training to make it happen. Its great that you’ve already picked out a few, now just go sign up and make it official.

  3. Somehow I don’t see a slump lasting long around you. I love the idea of making a list of “other” things to accomplish. This may be something I try.
    Oh … catching up on Dexter … totally worth it. 😉

    • I’m obsessed with that show! I just started watching it a few weeks ago and I’m onto season 3. It takes some pretty darn good writing to make one want to root for a serial killer. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

