Pecan Pie For Breakfast


It’s not the breakfast of champions, but the other options were turkey, green bean casserole, (gluten-free, of course) and sweet potato casserole. Three days post-Thanksgiving and I’m still trying to de-food clutter my refrigerator. It’s been too long since I’ve posted on this blog and the reason is this: what do I do with a blog that has been centered around training for a triathlon, when I’ve only done one race this year? I’ve been brainstorming what I want this blog to be. My daily life revolves around living and working in Nashville as a songwriter, struggling to maintain a decent level of fitness and trying to be the best person I can be in every area of life. Someone said to me recently that anyone who was reading this blog wasn’t stopping by for training tips. Well, what does that mean? Looking back at my posts from the past 18 months, I realized that what I love to write about most (aside from my embarrassing moments while training for a triathlon) are the mental, spiritual, emotional and sometimes physical aspects of trying to be the best version of myself, whether that’s writing new music, finishing up a children’s project that has been 3 years in the making or struggling to not feel completely inadequate in my boot camp class at the YMCA.

The biggest part of what I have loved about writing this blog are the connections that I’ve made with other bloggers out there in the blogiverse. Unknowingly, some of you and the comments you’ve left for me are what got me through a day when I didn’t want to work, work out or be that best version of myself. I would like to continue to write about my experiences in trying to be fit, but I would like this blog to be about fitness on every level. How fit is my gratitude today? How fit is my happiness? How fit is my work? How fit is my connection with God? How fit am I as a whole human being?

These are the things I’m thinking about this morning as I eat my pecan pie for breakfast.

 

IMG_2081

IMG_2057

IMG_2043

IMG_2062

IMG_2064

IMG_2071

IMG_2069

IMG_2072

IMG_2074

Turkey smoked for seven hours on a Traeger, gluten-free pecan pie, gluten-free cornbread dressing, brussel sprouts, cranberry-apple sauce! Can you guess which dessert is gluten-free?

13 Comments on “Pecan Pie For Breakfast

  1. I think being “fit” in every aspect of our lives is really important. It is great to share with all of us as it helps bring balance to our lives as well. What a fabulous take on making the blog work for you šŸ™‚

  2. Pecan pie for breakfast sounds great to me. I have always saved my desert for breakfast the next morning. That is when I enjoy it the most.
    I like your idea of an overall “fitness” blog. There is much more to being fit than physical ability. If you write it, we will come…and read it. šŸ˜‰

    • Good to hear from you, Michelle! I enjoyed your post about Canadians and Thanksgiving. I have so many music friends here in Nashville who are from Canada. I usually take in at least one or two for Thanksgiving. šŸ™‚

What are your thoughts?

