Allergy-Friendly Italian Night


I wanted to eat spaghetti, but had no sauce. I threw the following ingredients together, blended in the Vitamix and, POOF, five minutes later I had sauce. Add seasonings as you wish. I happened to have the ingredients to make a batch of meatballs so I made those as well then simmered them in a pot with the sauce for an hour.

Blender Spaghetti Sauce

2 cans diced tomatoes (I use the no salt added variety and then season accordingly)

1 can tomato paste

1 can unseasoned tomato sauce

3/4 cup chopped onions

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese (The more aged the parmesan, the less lactose.)

1 tbsp olive oil

Salt

Pepper

Dried Italian Herbs

Fresh basil (if you have it)

If preparing in a Vitamix, use the hot soup setting. If not, blend then transfer to a sauce pan and heat. This recipe also adheres to the “kitchen sink” philosophy of cooking that I enjoy. If you have something you think would be a great addition, throw it in! Fresh tomatoes, spinach, whatever suits you.

Meatballs (Gluten-Free)

1 lb ground meat (My Italian grandmother uses a mix of 1/3 beef, 1/3 veal and 1/3 pork, or a ratio somewhere there abouts.)

1 egg white

1/2 cup parmesan cheese (Make half of the recipe without the cheese if you would like to stay lactose-free.)

1/2 cup Glutino Bread Crumbs

Salt, pepper, dried Italian herbs according to your taste preference

The best way is to mush all this together by hand. Roll into balls and bake in a pan greased with olive oil for half an hour in an oven heated to 35o degrees. You can fry them, but I prefer to bake them. Simmer meatballs in the sauce.

Gluten-Free Pasta

When I was diagnosed with a wheat allergy 17 years ago there was nothing available. I had to skip out on the pasta part of any Italian meal my mother made. I got very used to eating meat sauce and other types of sauces without the pasta. Sometimes I still do that. Since then, I have tried every wheat, therefore gluten-free pasta out there. There are GF pastas made with corn, quinoa, brown rice and so on. The biggest differences are in the consistency. Some tend to get very mushy. I recently started eating a brand called Tinkyada and have enjoyed it. Cooked al dente, the GF products in this line brand tend to be less mushy than others I have tried. It is a trial and error process finding a GF pasta that you enjoy. Good luck!

 

 

4 Comments on “Allergy-Friendly Italian Night

  1. Funny I have never liked pasta (I know…everyone just stopped dead in their tracks and said, “what did she say?) I always had my sauce on rice or just with big chunks of Italian bread.
    Once again you have made me jealous of your Vitamix.

What are your thoughts?

