Hole vs. Whole: Monday Morning Inspiration


IMG_4575

We walked into church yesterday morning and projected onto the screens to either side of the stage was the word “Hole.” (Yes, I meant to say stage. It’s a Nashville church, y’all.) I immediately thought of that phrase heard so often in Christian circles, “god-shaped hole” and had a hard time focusing on the rest of the teaching, trying to think about what, of late, I’ve been trying to stuff my own God-shaped empty space with.

I’ve heard this phrase many times,  but I wanted to dig a bit farther back to see the exact etymology of this phrase (because I’m a nerd) and found that while it’s hard to pinpoint exactly where the notion first originated, the concept has been around for centuries. In 1670, mathematician and philosopher, Blaise Pascal, published a work entitled Pensees (literally, Thoughts), and in it contained a quote very familiar in contemporary philosophy:

“There is a God-shaped vacuum in the heart of every person, and it can never be filled by any created thing. It can only be filled by god, made known through Jesus Christ.”

Apparently, we humans have been stuffing our God-shaped holes with self-centric aspirations for centuries and I’m as guilty as the next girl.

Hole vs. Whole?

Hole: Me with a shovel digging away looking for something to make me less irritable, restless and discontent.

Whole: Knowing and living the fact that faith and belief and trust in God are the only things that will fill it in and patch the dirt back up.

I’ve challenged myself to be aware this week of what I’m trying to stuff into that space. Where am I exchanging faith and trust in God for useless things?  Like Cinderella’s glass slipper on the feet of the ugly step-sisters, what am I trying to stuff into that space that just won’t ever fit no matter what I do?

Those are the questions I’m starting my week off with. How about you?

4 Comments on “Hole vs. Whole: Monday Morning Inspiration

  1. I finally got to this point in my email box on Thursday which is well into the middle of the week. I started my week with work stress and decided today to let it go. I think the Hole is getting filled with the right stuff now.

    • Oh good! I’ve found myself busting out with Let It Go from Frozen a lot lately. 🙂 And I haven’t even seen the movie. Hope you have a great finish to your week.

What are your thoughts?

