Super Moon


DSC04250

Hey, diddle, diddle,
The cat and the fiddle,
The cow jumped over the moon;
The little dog laughed
To see such sport,
And the dish ran away with the spoon.

 

I sat in the grass on the side lawn of my house last night trying to find the perfect spot to try to take a photo of the moon as it cruised in its super, spotlight-like state, closer to the earth than at any other time this year. I cursed the street lamp at the end of my driveway for daring to be on and leaving me to struggle with my camera settings.

After I got what I felt like was the best photo I could get with my limited knowledge and equipment, I sat and felt around in the semi-darkness for the suspension of disbelief that used to be so at-the-ready when star-gazing as a kid. I looked back and laughed at my 8-year old self for believing with every cell that the moon really was just a hop, skip and a jump away and that I would most likely walk on it at some point in my life; at the same time admiring that sense of confidence in the impossible that I wish we adults had more of.

I think every moment I have on the planet is an opportunity to learn something about myself and other people and last night I learned that a big part of me still feels hopeful and confident about the possibilities we all have to experience wonder, joy, excitement, love and hope. I would suggest to anyone that the best place to gut check your beliefs about yourself and the world would be underneath the light of a super moon.

I once took a walk with my nephew underneath a full moon, (he was 3 at the time) and I will never forget the moment when he stopped, tugged at my hand and said slowly, with extreme wonder-filled confidence, “Aunt Ro, do you know the moon is a thousand years old? A thousand is really old. That’s older than Christmas.” I didn’t have to suspend my disbelief in this moment to get down to his level of understanding, because I believed every word that came out of his mouth. That’s why he and I get along so swimmingly.

After I posted my moon photo on Instagram last night, complete with the appropriate hashtags, (#supermoon, #wow, #shine #space #amazing) I clicked on #supermoon to see if the rest of the world’s Instagram users were as excited by the solar spectacle as I was. And they were. Social media can be a drain on many things, (energy, time, self-esteem) but last night it was all about sharing in the excitement and magic of seeing the moon up close and personal. There were many different perspectives and ways that people captured their images of the moon and in some parts of the hemisphere, it was so large that it seemed the images must be manipulated in some way. It was amazing to see what the moon looked like in so many parts of the world. Moonrises and moonsets. The moon through palm trees. Moonrise over the ocean. Moonset over farmland. Pretty exciting, joyous stuff, if you ask me.

How did you experience the Super Moon?

2 Comments on “Super Moon

  1. Wonder, joy, excitement, love and hope. Without them we have nothing…we are nothing. Thank you for sharing your super moon with us. I’m afraid I have to experience it vicariously through you.

What are your thoughts?

