Random Roast Vegetable Soup


There is a large, ivory ceramic bowl resting on the island in my kitchen that is the catchall for the random fruits and vegetables that find their way into my kitchen, but not, immediately, my mouth. There is often a sad clementine at the bottom, overlooked and gone bad that I have to compost, therefore, robbing it of, as my sister says about such things, “its chance to live out its destiny.” Thanks to her sentiments I feel like I have to prepare a memorial service for each bit of produce that I let go bad before using.

Last week, I looked into this bowl and observed a pretty random group of produce all on the verge of checking out. I had a small butternut squash, a green apple, a sad-looking sweet potato and an onion. I decided to make all their dreams come true and put together a soup (with the help of the Vitamix blender) that I think may have become a new standard in my house. I used spices that I picked up on my travels earlier in the year and I would like to say, with no boasting intended, only excitement, HOLY WOW! This soup turned out better than I imagined. I forced a taste-testing on two co-writers who were over working on some new tunes and it got great reviews.

Here is the “recipe.” Enjoy!

Random Roast Vegetable Soup

1 small butternut squash, peeled and cut into pieces

1 green apple, peeled, cored and cut into pieces (you can keep skin on as well)

1 sweet potato, peeled and cut into pieces

1 onion, cut into large chunks

Carrots (I had some carrot slices in the refrigerator that I threw in at the last minute. No particular amount.)

3-4 cups free range organic low-sodium chicken broth (or vegetable broth)

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon sea salt (I used a pink Hawaiian sea salt that I purchased in Kauai.)

1 teaspoon of spice that you like and have around (I used Baharat spice that I picked up in Dubai earlier in the year)

 

-Combine all chopped vegetables in a bowl and toss with olive oil and the sea salt.

-Place vegetables on a tin-foil (oiled or sprayed) covered pan in a single layer.

-Roast the vegetables at 400 degrees until they are tender.

-Remove from oven and place them in the Vitamix. (or whatever you use to puree)

-Add 3 cups of broth and the spices.

-Put blender on soup mode and let it do its work.

-Add additional salt to taste.

This serves 4-6

Do you have any random recipes that you’ve come up with using random ingredients? I’d love to know.

 

DSC09578

DSC09591

DSC09595

DSC09606

 

 

 

10 Comments on “Random Roast Vegetable Soup

  1. Looks great! I don’t know how wintery it gets in Nashville but that’s a typical “roast winter vegetable” ensemble here near Chicago. I love stuff like that and I sure will try your recipe this winter. I’m still up to my neck in tomatoes from the garden and haven’t moved into the squashes, pumpkins and yams of fall yet. It’s coming soon though.

    • Yes, it’s coming! It’s still in the 80’s here in Nashville, but getting cooler by the weekend. I wonder what other fall/winter vegetables I could throw in there? Pumpkin? Would that be weird?!?!

What are your thoughts?

