Wheat-Free Red Velvet Cake


I made this cake for a friend’s birthday recently (the gal over at inspireeatrun.com) and because I used an existing red velvet recipe and just substituted GF flour, it was easier than it looks. Making a cake for a table full of people from a recipe you’ve never tried usually spells FLOP, but thankfully this turned out as well as I could have hoped.

I used Cakeman Raven’s Southern Red Velvet Cake recipe featured on the Food Network Channel’s show Sarah’s Secrets, which you can find, here. I made the cake wheat-free by substituting, cup for cup, the flour for a GF all-purpose flour.

I used a traditional cream cheese frosting recipe, which can be found in a thousand different places online. Try this one. I tend to go overboard on the frosting but you don’t have to.

I used a bundt cake pan that was a hand-me-down from my hubby’s grandmother, which gave it an old-fashioned feel and created a great canvas for decorating.

I don’t have a cake carrier so I ran to the craft store and bought a cardboard cake box, cardboard rounds for underneath and some pretty black cake doilies.

The hole in the bundt shape made the perfect vase for some fresh flowers, which I threw on at the last-minute, along with some mini chocolate chips.

If you make one, I’d love to see how it turns out!

IMG_8382

 

Processed with VSCOcam with m6 preset

IMG_8401

3 Comments on “Wheat-Free Red Velvet Cake

What are your thoughts?

